2019 Chicagoans for Cincy! Alumni Awards

It’s an exciting time for all Bearcats as our university enters its Bicentennial year, as UC celebrates 200 years. We’re thrilled that the 2019 Chicagoans for Cincy! Bicentennial Gala will be one of the cornerstones of this special year in UC history. Chicagoland Bearcats look forward to recognizing and celebrating the many contributions and overall excellence of UC alumni.

We are pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the 2019 Chicagoans for Cincy! Alumni Awards.

Outstanding Achievement Award

This award is given to an alumnus of UC on the basis of notable achievement in his or her field. This award differs from the Distinguished Service Award in that it is not restricted to service to the university.

Michael Schroeck

Michael Schroeck, Bus '79
Michael is the former Global Big Data Analytics Leader for IBM. He started his career with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) in 1981 and subsequently started the Data Warehousing Practice in 1993. This Practice was rated the #1 DW/Analytics Practice in the world by analysts for over 20 consecutive years. Michael was twice named as one of the world's top “25 Most Influential Consultants” by Consulting Magazine and was named a Distinguished Engineer by IBM. He enjoys spending time with his wife Mary and their five children and six grandchildren, playing golf, watching his race horses, running, following the Bearcats and other sports teams of interest, and “giving back” through his service as a volunteer on several boards

Distinguished Service Award

This award is given to an alumnus of UC who has faithfully rendered outstanding service to the University of Cincinnati. This award is meant to recognize outstanding volunteer contributions by UC Chicago alumni and demonstrate appreciation to those who are usually over-modest, unpaid, and unthinking of personal reward.

Patty Klingbiel

Patty Klingbiel, Bus '91
Patty graduated from UC in 1991 with a degree in Finance and Accounting. She is President & Principal of The Connell Group, where she is the firm’s lead strategic consultant, helping clients identify the “meaning that matters” from research in order to clarify their brand strategy and propel their business forward. She began her career at Procter & Gamble in Healthcare Brand Marketing and served in senior marketing roles at Medsite.com (now WebMD), Merck-Medco, and as a Senior Strategy Consultant at the Zyman Group. She serves on the UC Foundation board and is the UC Bicentennial Marketing Committee Chair; is a member of the International Women’s Forum; and proud mother of Deaghan and Jayce Connell.

Sean Connell

Sean Connell, A&S '91
Sean graduated from UC in 1991 with a degree in Political Science. After stints in the Peace Corps (Ecuador) and Procter & Gamble, Sean founded The Connell Group in 2000, a brand strategy and market research consultancy. In that time, Sean has conducted consulted for some of the world’s most recognizable brands and has personally conducted market research in over 30 countries. He serves on the UC Foundation board and is the proud father of future—and Boldly—Bearcats Deaghan and Jayce Connell.

Rising Star Award

This award is given to a young or newly-involved alumnus of UC on the basis of professional achievement in his or her field of endeavor, and continued service and involvement with the university and community.

adjoa anyane-yeboa

Adjoa Anyane-Yeboa, Med '12
Adjoa received her undergraduate degree from Tufts University, and graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in Child Development. She then attended the UC College of Medicine, where she received her Doctor of Medicine June 2012. She subsequently moved to Chicago, where she completed her Internal Medicine residency and then Chief Residency at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is currently completing her Gastroenterology fellowship at the University of Chicago Medicine. Adjoa has a clinical interest in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) in minority populations, and is focused on healthy equity and elimination of health disparities in the field of Gastroenterology.

Past Award Winners

Outstanding Achievement Award
  • Eva Maddox
  • Alan Channing
  • Denny Reigle
  • Wally Becky
  • Brent Freese
  • Susan King
Distinguished Service Award
  • Denny DeMoss
  • David Watkins
  • Chris and Spes Mekus
  • Yetta Starr
  • Matt Wagner
Rising Star Award
  • Paul Green
  • Cindy Chiang
  • Andrew Eloff
  • John Lutz
  • Ann Taylor


© University of Cincinnati Alumni Association.

privacy policy