UC Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni awards are the highest honor bestowed upon graduates from the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy. Do you know an exemplary alumnus from the University Of Cincinnati Winkle College Of Pharmacy? If you do, we would like you to provide an opportunity to help us honor their achievement in pharmacy with a distinguished alumni award.

The Arthur C. Glasser Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus of the College of Pharmacy who has contributed time and expertise to the college and its degree programs in pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences to enhance student learning, training or research.

The Robert J. DeSalvo Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus of the College of Pharmacy who has contributed to the profession of pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences at the national or international level.

The G.O.L.D (Graduate of The Last Decade) Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes a graduate from the College of Pharmacy within the last ten years, who has made significant contributions to the college and/or the profession.

2023 Honorees


The Robert J. DeSalvo Distinguished Alumni Award

Eric Mueller is a passionate and devoted pharmacy leader, teacher, and researcher. Eric received his BS in Pharmacy and PharmD at the University of Cincinnati and completed a critical care/nutrition support pharmacy residency and a critical care research fellowship at the University of Tennessee. Eric currently works as the Director of Acute Care and Infusion Pharmacy Services for the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and West Chester Hospital. He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Administration and serves as a Preceptor for the Clinical Pharmacy Administration rotation. Dr. Mueller has provided leadership in numerous professional organizations including the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists, the Society of Critical Care Medicine. Eric has produced countless publications and textbook chapters, conducted multiple research projects both funded and unfunded, and given a number of presentations. Dr. Mueller’s work and dedication to the pharmacy profession has been given recognition throughout the years such as Preceptor of the Year Award, President’s Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty, Fellow for the American College of Critical Care Medicine, and Fellow for the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. One of Eric’s favorite aspects of his work is helping patients get better and seeing the “light” come on when someone realizes they are learning something. 


Arthur C. Glasser Distinguished Alumni Award

Tina Hamilton is a dedicated pharmacist and mentor as well as a generous partner to the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy. Tina graduated with her PharmD at UC in 2007 and then went on to complete a PGY1 residency at Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon. Upon completion of her PGY1 residency, Dr. Hamilton accepted an ambulatory care clinical pharmacy specialist position at the Cincinnati Veteran’s Affairs Medical Center where she worked in primary care, home based primary care, and women’s health. In 2018, Tina was selected for the position of Clinical Pharmacy Practitioner, PGY1 Residency Program Director and Student Coordinator. As the student coordinator, Tina has expanded the APPE program and helped in the development of multiple clinical APPE rotations that are offered to the UC College of Pharmacy. At the college, Tina has been a lecturer in the Ambulatory Care Elective as well as a guest speaker for the Pharmacy and Medical Student Interprofessional program. She has presented didactic lectures on Precepting and Self-Assessment to the Pharmacy Residents participating in the UC Teaching Certificate program and has volunteered at the college with mock interviews and CV reviews. Dr. Hamilton is involved in multiple programs both locally and nationally including serving on the ASHP Post-Graduate Education and Learning Experience Section Advisory Group. Above all, Tina is an advocate and mentor for students. Her passions include clinical services, mentoring, precepting, leadership, and process improvement.


The G.O.L.D (Graduate of The Last Decade) Distinguished Alumni Award

Rusty is a servant leader whose passion for underserved care and innovation has made significant impacts on the community and profession of pharmacy. Rusty received his Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2013 and his residency training in 2014 from UC and now serves as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy. He currently works as the Director of Pharmacy of the St. Vincent de Paul Charitable Pharmacy. Rusty’s contributions and involvement in the success of the St. Vincent de Paul Charitable Pharmacy began years ago as a volunteer. His dedication to his work had him continuing to move into higher positions as the Clinical Coordinator, Manager, Assistant Director, and now Director. Throughout his career, Rusty has developed new programs and initiatives. He created a Diabetes Self-Management Education initiative to better serve patients who are at high risk for complications from diabetes. He negotiated a Collaborative Practice Agreement reducing the need for continuous communication on prescriptions and improving the pharmacy’s ability to see more patients and fill more prescriptions. He also identified a burden surrounding transitions of care upon hospital discharge and created an emergency referral program which gives a 30-day supply of free medication while securing continued access to the pharmacy. Dr. Curington has been recognized for his contributions as a Safety Net Health Care Champion Award Finalist with the National Association of Free Clinics in 2018 and a Health Care Hero Winner and Forty Under Forty Winner with the Cincinnati Business Courier in 2022.

Past Honorees

Pharmacy Past Distinguished Alumni Honorees
Year Arthur C. Glasser Award  Robert J. DeSalvo Award  G.O.L.D. Graduate of the Last Decade Award
2022 Mike Espel Stan Weber Tyler Vest
James Kirby
Daniel Robinson
Cynthia Johnson
2020 Kathryn Clark McKinney Gary Greiner Ryan Marable
Melca Wallace James Dalton Kristina Reinstatler
2018 Daniel Hein Robert Cluxton Leah Fuller
2017 Margaret Eves Edward Zastawny Christopher Droege
2016 Eric W. Mueller Myrella Roy David Jarnot
2015 Chad Worz Verneda Hawkins Kelly Dobos
2014 Gary Thompson Dennis Helling Chris Forg
2013 David Witmer Steven Krill  
2012 Kevin Burns Connie Jung  
2011 Nicholas K. Barsan Capt. Stephanie M. Simon (dec.)  
2010 Mimi E. Hart Thomas P. Reinders  
2009 Timothy J. Benedict John R. Horn  
2008 Norman Dingeldein Gregory Kearns  
2007 Don Ruwe Michael Reed  
2006 Paul Ruwe Betty-ann Hoener  
2005 Michael J. Puccini Fred N. Eshelman  
2004 Jerry Rucker Ajaz S. Hussain  
2003 Richard G. Darlington Dorothy L. Smith  
2002 John A. Dinkelaker Rebecca A. Finley  
2001 Candace Kendle J. Richard Wuest  
2000 Martin W. Nie (dec.) John H. Voige, Jr. (dec.)  
1999 Thomas J. Thomas C. Robert Blake  
1998 Forrest E. Pack, Sr. I. Glenn Sipes  
1997 Ralph B. Kinross Joseph V. Roney  
1996 Irving S. Feuer (dec.) Sheldon W. Fantle (dec.)  
1995 Paul Lamping Gloria N. Francke (dec.)  
1994 Alan N. Kessler Ronald J. Brenner (dec.)  
Distinguished Benefactor Honorees
Year Distinguished Benefactor Award
2008 James L. Winkle
2000 A. William Forbriger (dec.)
1998 Ida Lou & Mark C. Carl (dec.)
Headshot of Anna Gormley, Bus '17

Anna Gormley, Bus '17

Program Director, Alumni Engagement, College of Allied Health Sciences & James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy