James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni awards are the highest honor bestowed upon graduates from the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy. Do you know an exemplary alumnus from the University Of Cincinnati Winkle College Of Pharmacy? If you do, we would like you to provide an opportunity to help us honor their achievement in pharmacy with a distinguished alumni award.

The Arthur C. Glasser Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus of the College of Pharmacy who has contributed time and expertise to the college and its degree programs in pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences to enhance student learning, training or research.

The Robert J. DeSalvo Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus of the College of Pharmacy who has contributed to the profession of pharmacy or pharmaceutical sciences at the national or international level.

The G.O.L.D (Graduate of The Last Decade) Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes a graduate from the College of Pharmacy within the last ten years, who has made significant contributions to the college and/or the profession.



Nominations are due Friday, June 29


Past Distinguished Alumni Honorees


Read about the 2017 James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni below.

Christopher Droege, PharmD ’08
Graduate of the Last Decade Award

Dr. Chris Droege is regarded as an exemplary clinical pharmacist, currently serving as a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Critical Care at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center, and Adjunct Assistant Professor in UC’s James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy. He has proven to be a dependable resource and dynamic teacher in the realm of critical care and emergency medicine, as demonstrated through appointments at several institutions, involvement in clinical guideline and protocol development, presentations for professional organizations and institutions, and training over a dozen Critical Care Pharmacy residents. As an innovative researcher, he has worked on more than 80 abstracts, grants, contracts and research projects with more than 20 publications and counting. He participates in local, state and national professional organizations, including a recent appointment as faculty for the ASHP Board Certified Critical Care Pharmacist (BCCCP) course. Dr. Droege has received a number of awards from UC Health, including Residency Preceptor of the Year in 2015 for the University of Cincinnati Medical Center Pharmacy Residency Program. He volunteers regularly in the local community and is a generous donor to various organizations including United Way, March of Dimes and the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy.

Margaret Eves, PharmD ’80
Arthur C. Glasser Award

Dr. Margaret Eves is a champion for diversity and dedicated volunteer with the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy. Upon graduating with her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from UC in 1980, Dr. Eves began her extensive career with Walgreens and is currently a staff pharmacist in Cincinnati. Her belief in strengthening the profession through diversity initiatives led her to establish the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy Council of Diversity, an organization of key leaders in the college and community. She enthusiastically volunteers with the college through admissions interviews and recently assisted with the white coat redesign project. Dr. Eves is active with the Veteran Apothecaries Association of Cincinnati and was a charter member of the Cincinnati Pharmaceutical Association. She has received awards for her professional achievement and community service, including the Walgreens Pharmacy of the Year award and West End Community Service Award.

Edward Zastawny, PharmD ’82
Robert J. DeSalvo Award

As a senior level executive with 34 years of pharmacy and clinical experience, Dr. Edward Zastawny is known for his dedication to building and managing successful teams. His powerful combination of executive abilities and clinical knowledge fostered success during his 20-year career in the United States Air Force (USAF) and a civilian career focusing on clinical and managed care programs. He is currently the Senior Medical Science Liaison with Santen, Inc. in New Braunfels, Tex., and formerly worked for Shire, IMS Government Solutions, and Novartis Pharmaceuticals after retiring from the military. Due to his impact on the USAF, its clinical excellence award was renamed the “USAF Edward Zastawny Clinical Pharmacist of the Year” award in his honor, and he is the only USAF pharmacist to be selected as Company Grade Pharmacist of the Year, Clinical Pharmacist of the Year, and Field Grade Pharmacist of the Year. He earned his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from UC and his PharmD from the University of Texas at Austin.


© University of Cincinnati Alumni Association.

privacy policy