University of Cincinnati Governmental Relations Update

Bearcats on the Ballot - April 2016

While much of the attention during the March 15th primary election was focused on candidates running for president, there were also a number of Bearcats who put their names on the ballot at the local, state and federal levels. While too numerous to mention all of them, we’d like to highlight a few of these individuals.

Several Bearcats are running for re-election, including Congressman Brad Wenstrup (2nd District) at the federal level. State Senator Shannon Jones has elected to leave the Statehouse and is running unopposed for the Warren County Commission.

At the Ohio Statehouse, Representative Jonathan Dever (House District 28), Representative Bill Blessing (House District 29), Representative Doug Green (House District 66), and Representative Jim Butler (House District 41) cruised to primary wins. Bearcats who are running for the first time at the state level, Brigid Kelly (House District 31) and Catherine Ingram (House District 32) were victorious in their primary races for open seats. State Senator Bill Seitz will be running for House District 30 this November. All were successful in moving on to the general election in November.

Also victorious in his primary, Matt Huffman, a former state representative from Lima, is running for Ohio’s 12th Senate District. Incumbent State Senator Joe Uecker (14th District) won his primary unopposed.

Locally, current Hamilton County Commissioners Dennis Deters and Todd Portune who had no primary opposition will be on the ballot for the general election.

Whether they are running for township trustee, local school board, Congress, or any other office, we thank these Bearcats for answering the call to serve their community and wish them the best come November!


© University of Cincinnati Alumni Association.

privacy policy