2016 Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Seminar Series

The Distinguished Alumni Seminar Series will feature the 2016 College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients! Join us as the honorees visit UC this fall to receive their award and meet with students, alumni and faculty.

Robert J. DeSalvo Award: Myrella Roy, Pharm.D. ’80
Monday, Oct. 3
3:30 – 4:30 p.m.
Kresge Auditorium, Medical Sciences Building
Join us for Dr. Myrella Roy’s presentation for the College of Pharmacy!

Arthur C. Glasser Award: Eric W. Mueller, Pharm.D. ’99
Friday, Oct. 21
9 – 10 a.m.
Kresge Auditorium, Medical Sciences Building
Join us for Dr. Eric Mueller’s presentation for the College of Pharmacy.

GOLD (Graduate of the Last Decade) Award: David R. Jarnot, Pharm.D. ’06
Friday, Nov. 4
Details will be shared as we finalize Maj. Jarnot’s visit to UC.

More information about the 2016 Distinguished Alumni Honorees:

Dr. Myrella Roy has been executive director of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists since 2003 after previously serving as a clinical pharmacist, administrator, teacher and consultant. She was a leader at The Ottawa Hospital in Ontario, Canada, for 17 years, managing pharmacists and clinical pharmacy services, coordinating the hospital’s pharmacy residency program, and maintaining a diverse active practice. She has also held faculty positions at three universities in Canada and France. Dr. Roy has been an invited speaker at more than 100 regional, provincial, national and international meetings. The recipient of various awards throughout her career, she earned her undergraduate degree in pharmacy from the University of Montreal and her Pharm.D. from UC.

Dr. Eric Mueller, the UC Medical Center’s Assistant Director of Pharmacy Services, has gained a reputation as an exemplary teacher of future pharmacists. His courses are among the most difficult in the Winkle College of Pharmacy, yet always among the most popular. In creating a vibrant, comfortable, hands-on learning environment, he has demonstrated a knack for breaking down the most complex clinical applications to a level of understanding that all students can handle. Mueller teaches with extraordinary expertise and humility, a rare combination that separates the good instructors from the truly remarkable. He has received many awards citing his outstanding work and service, including the university-wide President’s Award for Outstanding Adjunct Faculty.

Maj. David Jarnot has distinguished himself through his stellar service as a pharmacist in the U.S. Air Force (USAF). His leadership abilities and innate innovative spirit have helped standardize pharmacy practices throughout the USAF as well as elevate the role and impact of pharmacists. He is also leading research efforts to evaluate patient outcomes as a result of embedding pharmacists in USAF primary care clinics. Since becoming Pharmacy Flight Commander at Hill Air Force Base in Utah in 2012, Jarnot has been responsible for raising the number of yearly direct patient-to-pharmacist clinical interactions more than tenfold, with a guiding vision to drive pharmacy innovation to maximize patient safety for the benefit of USAF’s active duty, retirees and family members. He was named the Next Generation Military Pharmacist of the Year for 2015, the first Air Force recipient of the prestigious tri-service award.


© University of Cincinnati Alumni Association.

privacy policy